$\underline{EAHIL-President's\ report\ 2007}\ (^{2nd\ draft\ 21\ June\ 2008)}$

EAHIL Executive Board:

The first meeting took place in London, February 16th, 2007, invited by Tony McSean.

The second meeting took place in Krakow, September 11th, 2007, at the Conference and Training Centre of Jagiellonian University Medical College.

Roles and tasks of Board members 2007:

Arne Jakobsson – Past President

Tony McSeán – Secretary, taking over from Linda at the meeting in London

Linda Lisgarten – Secretary (till Feb 16th, 2007)

Manuela Colombi – Treasurer

Helena Bouzkova – Continuing Education and Professional Development Coordinator Pirjo Rajakiili – Second Vice President

Benoit Thirion – First Vice President (1st co-opted -> filling vacancy of Linda leaving) Meile Kretaviciene – Second Secretary, Internal Communications Officer (2nd -> 1st co-

Enrica Veronesi (2nd co-opted)

Sally Wood-Lamont – chief editor of J EAHIL

Professional certification:

The committee by Helena Bouzkova, Ioana Robu, Maurella della Seta, Françoise Pasleau and Suzanne Bakker started a pragmatic implementation plan, including a pilot and evaluation to be presented in Helsinki (2008), discussed in Dublin (2009) and for agreement on the agenda of the GA in Lisbon (2010).

EAHIL Statutes:

A Dutch translation of the proposed changes is discussed with the lawyer and will be registered [registration of amendments on May 23rd, 2008]; an unauthorized English version will be distributed by announcement to all EAHIL-users (by EAHIL webdatabase) and publication on the web soon therafter.

Scholarships:

Thanks to the financial support of EBSCO we were able to grant 2 more scholarships; with the one PhInG supported one, there were 7 scholarships granted for the Krakow workshop.

EAHIL Secretariat

In April the files were closed at the NVB office and moved to Maarssen, the office of Nicole Regoort, our auditor.

Affiliated members had shown interest in receiving address labels; but the impression is that this is now declining.

Contacts with affiliated members are easily established by e-mail, but unfortunately payment of invoices and money transfer does sometimes suffer from bureaucracy, staff changes and peculiarities of international bank systems (especially between USA and EU).

Journal of EAHIL

Thanks to growing interest of advertisers there is more colour printing in the Journal. EBSCO's support for the Journal issues' mailings is very much appreciated.

EAHIL membership:

Growing steadily. By the end of 2007 there were over 1100 members registered in the database.

There is a need for extended and more detailed procedures for accepting membership applications. Council members were instructed by Arne Jakobsson on the procedure and the criteria for accepting the applications.

Abstract submission system:

For the Helsinki conference the new system was launched and worked well (thanks to the hard work of Arne Jakobsson and Morton Pederson)

In 2007 the following SIG's were active:

1. The Pharmaceutical Information Group (PhInG)

Michelle Wake and Giovanna Miranda co-chairing this group

2. The European Veterinary Libraries group (EVLG) coordinated by Friedhelm Rump and 3. The Public Health Information Group (PubH) (formerly WHO Documentation Centres) co-chaired by Paivi Pekkariinen and Sue Thomas.

A 4th group focussing on Medical Informatics was proposed by Bruce Madge and several colleagues showed interest in joining. A 5th group fosussing on MeSH maintenance and MeSH translations was proposed, but not yet launched. Stuart Nelson from NLM (attending Krakow workshop) was interested to join, but we should find a European coordinator for this group. The many presentations in Krakow about the use of translated MeSH in Europe proofed that there is enough interest for this subject among our colleagues.

MLA contacts and representation:

Tony McSean and Arne Jakobsson represented EAHIL to MLA; Bruce Madge was appointed by MLA as their representative towards EAHIL.

HILJ Editorial Board Meeting:

Frederica Napolitani is the EAHIL representative in the International Editorial Advisory Board of the UK Health Information and Libraries Journal (published by Blackwell). Suzanne Bakker is also a member of this board and a link between the UK HLG and EAHIL. Both attended the Editorial Board meeting in June in London.

IFLA South Africa

Tony McSean and Arne Jakobsson submitted a paper on managing a professional association with the titles: "The Open Access Association? EAHIL's new model for sustainability" the paper was presented by Carla Funk on behalf of Tony and Arne.

EAHIL 2009 Dublin

Louise Farragher (chair LOC) and Bernard Barrett (chair IPC) started preparations for the workshop in 2009; early 2008 Paul Murphy took over from Bernard.

EAHIL 2010 Lisbon

Margarida Meida (chair LOC) started in Krakow recruting members for the IPC that will be chaired by Isabel Andrade and Paula Saraiva.

ICML 2009 Brisbane Aug 31 – Sept 4

EAHIL Board decided to contribute to the 10th ICML programme; Tony McSean being the trait-d'union between EAHIL and ICML organizers. Bruce Madge in its role of chair of the IFLA Section of Biological and Medical Sciences Libraries as well as longstanding EAHIL member is an important contact for EAHIL with ICML 2009 organizers. Other European colleagues in the IPC for Brisbane are: Andrew Booth, Arne Jakobsson, Carol Lefebvre and Oliver Obst.

Suzanne Bakker June 2008